Blazzam!

I cannot possibly express how much hard work it took to get this book in my hand. Sure, I could have smashed out some semi-coherent words, slapped it together in a manuscript, doodled something for a cover and self published. Instead, I poured out a hilarious, dramatic, suspenseful, gut-wrenching tale of a young woman’s (though she is anything but lady-like) horrific journey into a zombified world.

Editing. Oh, God, the editing. I edited, re-edited, re-re-re-re-re-re-edited until I was certain I had a story that was everything I thought it should and knew it would be.

I hosted a cover design contest to find unique artwork for the cover of this book. The result was uncovering a phenomenal young artist named Brandon Waltman who created a flippin’ rockawesome cover for my unique book.

Finally, I did a shit-load of research on the book publishing scene. A book like Ravenous Decay is surprisingly hard to pitch to publishers and agents, even though the world is so ripe for the zombie pickin’s. Agents are up to their eyeballs in manuscript submissions and take so precious few new clients. Though, I did have some interest behind Ravenous Decay on the mainstream publishing front, my research told me that my chances of success were not solely weighted upon the broad shoulders of publishers. So, I decided to take on the task myself. Indie publishing is a ton of work and takes massive amounts of dedication and follow through. I’m still learning as I go, but I truly feel that Ravenous Decay was the perfect book for the indie scene.

Thanks a million to everyone who has followed along with my journey. It is by no means complete. In fact, I would say that the indie publishing journey has just barely begun. Now that I have the first printed copy of Ravenous Decay in my hand (and now that it is available to all of you) I feel a gihugic leap to higher platforms calling my name.

To buy your copy of Ravenous Decay, click on the following links.
For eReader or downloadable copies: Smashwords
For paperback copies: Createspace
COMING SOON to Amazon and MANY more stores.

Posted on March 16, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment